Metallica – part I.5, after S&M

Prior to late 1998 I had done some freelance design and architectural visualization and worked at a theater consulting firm, but the PMO Christmas show catapulted my career as a media artist thanks to its connection with MooTV. After S&M, I spent the next 2 years working on high-profile gigs and developing a lasting friendship and partnership.

In that short time I worked on gigs for companies and events, such as:

  • Lucent Technologies corporate event in the Bahamas
  • The Robin Hood Foundation annual fundraiser in New York City
  • Avaya Communications corporate event in Hawaii
  • Country Music Association Fan Fair in Nashville (now known as the CMA Music Festival) where they have both kinds of music
  • Tim McGraw 1999 Tour (did not travel with the tour)
  • 1999 PMO Christmas Show with Robert Kovach designing scenery and I did the projections
  • Tim McGraw and Faith Hill 2000 Soul to Soul Tour (did not travel with the tour)
  • Metallica 2000 Summer Sanitarium Tour (I went on the first leg of the tour)
  • The 2001 Rock ‘n Roll Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony in New York City

I travelled a lot, got paid well, and I learned a lot about being a professional in the entertainment industry. In the summer of 2000 I worked as an in-house freelancer at MooTV, where I created graphics and acted as a project manager on a couple of gigs. We were also working with a production/management company that had a lot of potential, but unfortunately imploded due to having too many industry veterans and outsiders trying to work together.

By the winter of 2000-2001 things changed. Jim Lockhart and I had developed a great friendship and we had different ideas of what we could be doing with our talents compared to what was going on with MooTV. Jim worked for MooTV as an employee and I was an independent. He had increasingly frequent disagreements with Scott on how to run the business, so he put himself in a place financially where he could take some risks. By the early spring of 2001, Jim left and started his own company called Emagination-Media. I chose to work with Jim, of course, and though I had no plan of breaking my ties with MooTV (naively thinking I was Switzerland for some reason) , that’s the way it ultimately went down. The three of us had become so close that we were incapable of talking to each other like professional adults and we let things fall apart much like a broken relationship in a family. The more I have thought about it over the years, the more I think I could have done something to make things go smoother for all of us.

Jim and I have worked together ever since on various gigs and we consult with each other on a regular basis from things like video and graphics workflow, to beer brewing.

Ten years went by until I got a call from Scott to do some work again. We didn’t even come close to talking about the past. Instead, our conversations were like we had never taken a break working with each other. Nowadays I do not travel to gigs like I did, but I work with him as he needs my talents in 3D animation and concert design.

The same year Scott got back in touch, so did Robert Kovach – pretty cool. We did spend some time catching up. We didn’t have a weird break, like with MooTV, instead we had just gone our separate ways after grad school and got busy doing other things. Over the last few years I have worked with him on many different scenery designs for live events including Canon’s booth for the 2013 Consumer Electronics Show (CES).

My next, and probably last, Metallica post will be on the Summer Sanitarium Tour. I have to gather some images and video first. Be ready for bad catering, a flood, private jets, equipment breakdowns, and a jet-ski accident.

