iPad Art

I believe drawing and painting are my strongest talents. They are the basis for everything else I do creatively, yet since building a career (post grad school) I rarely ever draw or paint. Drawings since grad school tend to be utilitarian – storyboards, design ideas for real objects, etc. Rarely anything for creative expression. The image of the hand with gears and paintbrush is the last finished painting I’ve done circa 2011. It’s hanging in my office now.

Last year I tried to draw more by using my iPad and a Wacom Bamboo stylus. I tried a lot of art apps. I settled on procreate and I really liked it. The experience wasn’t as cool as I wanted it to be, however, so I did not do much. Lately I’ve started drawing again, but back to analog tools – I just love the tactile feedback and simplicity of paper, pens, pencils, etc. I’ll post some drawings soon.

Here’s what I did get done with procreate. BTW, these were all done on my iPad 2. I preferred the heavy glass of the 2 compared to the Air I have now.

First procreate painting. Fingers only - just playing around

First procreate painting. Fingers only – just playing around

Second finger painting - playing around some more

Second finger painting – playing around some more

First stylus painting - playing around with blending

First stylus painting – playing around with blending

Stylus painting - willow oak leaves growing from skin

Stylus painting – willow oak leaves growing from skin

Stylus painting - fun with some shapes. I use this for my iPad wallpaper

Stylus painting – fun with some shapes. I use this for my iPad wallpaper

Stylus painting - spent some more time on this one. Playing with some color

Stylus painting – spent some more time on this one. Playing with some color

 

Stylus painting - fast painting and last finished on my iPad. My favorite

Stylus painting – fast painting and last finished on my iPad. My favorite

